My heart warms when I read these, indeed that’s why we run Enlightenment Tea. You can see some reviews on individual products, but more often people get in touch via email, facebook, etc. (work in progress, updated sporadically)

 

Latest reviews

1 week ago
Paul

Lovely, comforting tea. Typical yiwu flavour as well as very soft, comfortable qi that I particularly enjoy during the evening to relax with. The description is correct, it does seem to bring forth a subtle sense of loving kindness in ones being, too.

1 week ago
Paul

This one has a particularly strong 'qi'. It's definitely not an 'all-rounder' like some of the others and, for me, it is specifically for meditation and/or sitting quietly in the garden. It induces a deep stillness and quietude of mind that is the strongest I've tried so far from this site. Great tea to enjoy alone, prior to a meditation or a meditational experience in itself.

1 week ago
Paul
(verified owner)

This is extremely good value for money. A high quality tea, with a lovely qi for such a low price is extremely rare. I recommend this to anyone who is new to these teas and is on a budget!

2 months ago
Philip
(verified owner)

Powerful and aptly named, this tea is a real treat. I've recently come out of a decade-plus phase of having a strong preference for wet storage over dry, and have instead lately found myself drawn to the more buzzy energy of dry-aged pu-erh. For that reason, I'm giving this a 4... whereas a year ago I'd have probably rated it a 5. Where I find this tea supportive is when I'm seeking a mellower Qi that is something partway between a nice shou and a dry-aged sheng. Quite nice for those in a mood for sheng with a good deal of wet storage.

2 months ago
Philip
(verified owner)

My first order from Enlightenment Tea comprised of two teas: Ocean Waves and Beginner's Mind. Both are excellent teas. Beginner's Mind truly blew me away (I'm about to order more). Ocean Waves has a Qi that's soft, mild, and delicious... suitable for days where I'm looking for more subtlety, in contrast to the powerful zing of Beginner's Mind.

2 months ago
Philip
(verified owner)

Every time I drink Beginner's Mind, my whole body is suffused with a clarifying energy... it's a remarkable tea that is as delicious as it is energizing. This tea has become one of my very favorite Sheng Pu-erhs, among a couple dozen that I have at hand. Beginner's Mind can take quite a number of steepings. More than once, I was delighted to get a bonus infusion or two from overnight leaves the following day.

3 months ago
Natethesnake

This tea has everything I look for in a semi aged Nannuo. Notes of orange peel, orange blossom and light notes of sandalwood. Good stamina and nice uplifting qi. Really solid tea.

3 months ago
Natethesnake

Nice semi aged Yiwu and a good opportunity to taste dry and humid stored versions of the same material side by side. The dry starts off woody and resiny in early steeps and reminds me of a Biyun Hao Mahei pressing. Later steeps surprisingly shape shift into something that tastes much younger and reveals some of the original floral, honeyish top notes. The qi is bubbly and energizing with a bit of mental relaxation. The wet stored tea otoh is expectedly sweeter and danker with notes of damp November forest character. The qi here is deeper and more yin. This tea is more ready to drink now and if I had to choose one to drink now I’d go for the wet stored. But the dry is more complex and dynamic and I imagine that in 20 years will outshine it. Both of these teas could be a bit thicker and more concentrated with more stamina for my tastes but in this price range is definitely worth trying. My rating is actually 4 1/2 stars as for me to rate something as 5 it needs to be a world classic.

4 months ago
Paul
(verified owner)

Best value for money enlightenment tea has to offer!
Great tea, great qi and flavour for an incredibly low price. A bit more energetic than some of the others I've tried, but still just as smooth and not 'jumpy'. Some of the other teas are more specifically for meditation, whereas I find this to be more versatile- great for conversations with friends but also a deep enough qi to be helpful in meditation. Highly recommended.

 

Transparency note on reviews

We’re currently offering a coupon for making reviews as we want this to be the basis of our community discussion. If the review comes from our reminder email it goes through a 3rd party system and is automatically approved, however if the review is typed in the website I have to manually approve it as we get a lot of spam. I’m trying to find a way for users to register or antispam filter so that most reviews can go up without need for manual approval. For now you’ll have to take my word that I’ll approve any human review and coupons will be given regardless of a review being good, bad or neutral.

Also keep in mind it’s very likely people will only have positive reviews as most know me (being a very small scale operation), and I imagine it’s kind of hard leaving a negative review to someone you know (or you know how much they love what they do).

Therefore please don’t take the reviews as an assurance of quality but more as a starting point for discussion. If they prove anything, it’s just that someone else actually drank the Tea and enjoyed it, not that you necessarily will too.