My heart warms when I read these, indeed that’s why we run Enlightenment Tea. You can see some reviews on individual products, but more often people get in touch via email, facebook, etc. (work in progress, updated sporadically)

 

Latest reviews

5 months ago
Chris Saunders

As the description said deep shamanic properties. This was a heart centred tea that offered wonderful visuals during movement practice. Took me by suprise. Very tasty and easy drinking even for beginners to these teas

5 months ago
Chris Saunders
(verified owner)

A lovely tea, bright qi that just kept giving, clarity and calming were what the tea was offering me. I'll be revisting this again soon.

5 months ago
Aleksei
(verified owner)

It so happened that I was very angry when I found out that I did not get a raise at work, I was very dejected. (I work from home). Then I thought that I should drink the tea that came this morning. I thought that if I don’t like tea either, then I don’t know what I’ll do, I’ll go and get drunk. But while drinking Bulan Shan Pu-erh tea, I felt that I calmed down and I don’t care at all whether my salary was raised or not. So this tea calmed me even though I was very, very angry.

6 months ago
Timothy

Drinking this tea was a subtle experience of transformation. The texture starts out bold and rich, mineral and herbaceous, then shifts to the sweetness of raw honey, and back to mineral, algal, and fresh. The body sensation began quite strong for me, a feeling of energy that transitioned to tranquility. I'm recovering from a head cold as I write this, and the tension and congestion that I felt this morning gradually dissipated during meditation with this tea, moving to a sense of well-being.

6 months ago
Timothy

This tea was a revelation, my first experience with a wet-aged sheng puerh. It has the earthiness I'm familiar with from shu puerhs, but a resinous depth and sweetness that unfolds with each infusion. The first steepings have a strong maltiness and minerality that shifts to maple syrup sweetness and herbaceousness. The Qi is strong yet grounding, not overpowering, bringing a transparency to awareness. During meditation, it seemed as though ambient sounds, like birdsong, flowed through consciousness uninhibited.

6 months ago
Timothy
(verified owner)

This was my first experience with truly high-quality aged puerh tea. Hours after my session, I still feel a profound sense of grounding, calm, and well-being.

7 months ago
@tensionseekers

Shout out to Paolo from @enlighttea @puerh.uk for giving me an opportunity to try this amazing, mind-blowing, very, very old Aged puerh. 1998 Red Label. It’s got to be tasted to be believed. Bright red liquor from the first infusion. Chi felt early but unlike any other chi. For such an aged tea the taste is extremely clean and crisp. A pleasing but subtle sweetness similar to that of crisp apple juice. Lots of aged tea flavours. Taste old books, esoteric Literature and ancient scrolls. Ancient primeval forest and pure mountain air. A babbling brook. Mouth numbing, tongue tingling hints of camphor; eucalyptus and menthol. Moving about, touching various spots on the tongue and palate. Both deep and light. Refreshing and revivifying. Long aftertaste. Cuts through dense, sludgy, low energy emotional states. Feel all tension and agitation leaving your body as your shoulders drop and your breathing deepens. Powerfully calming and grounding; sense sharpening. A beautiful session. Tea is the dew of Heaven.

One of the most satisfying sessions I’ve had to date. Yet still it definitely left me wanting more. It was like the chi I’ve been chasing has arrived…

8 months ago
Natethesnake

Big yang tea. If I blind tasted this I would guess it to be 10 year old Lao man e or Jie Liang. Thick, powerful but smooth bitterness, notes of slate and oak barrel and a hint of fennel. Huge huigan and what I refer to as stoned roadrunner qi. Compared to the big factory Menghai teas this tea is simultaneously more powerful and refined. Very clean storage. Lost count of how many steeps I got. I’m mostly an Yiwu drinker but when I need a hefty yang kick in the arse these types of Menghai tea fit the bill nicely

8 months ago
Robert Clarke
(verified owner)

Not sure how to express my liking for this tea !
The sample I have is not to tightly pressed .. There is a good smell to the dry leaf , the wet leaf even more so.
It smells slightly medicinal , which I like. The tast is different to other teas I have had. There is some astringency , but not too much. Chi ? All I can say is it results in a relaxed feeling all over.. Give it a try , even if only a sample !

 

Transparency note on reviews

We’re currently offering a coupon for making reviews as we want this to be the basis of our community discussion. If the review comes from our reminder email it goes through a 3rd party system and is automatically approved, however if the review is typed in the website I have to manually approve it as we get a lot of spam. I’m trying to find a way for users to register or antispam filter so that most reviews can go up without need for manual approval. For now you’ll have to take my word that I’ll approve any human review and coupons will be given regardless of a review being good, bad or neutral.

Also keep in mind it’s very likely people will only have positive reviews as most know me (being a very small scale operation), and I imagine it’s kind of hard leaving a negative review to someone you know (or you know how much they love what they do).

Therefore please don’t take the reviews as an assurance of quality but more as a starting point for discussion. If they prove anything, it’s just that someone else actually drank the Tea and enjoyed it, not that you necessarily will too.